In the News

FLA DEMS to Honor Distinguished Leaders for Lifetime of Achievement at 2011 State Convention

For Immediate Release: October 5, 2011
Contact: Brannon Jordan, (850) 222-3411


FLA DEMS to Honor Distinguished Leaders for Lifetime of Achievement at 2011 State Convention
Gov. Reubin O’D. Askew to Attend State Convention to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

Tallahassee, FL – The Florida Democratic Party announced today that three Democratic leaders will be honored at the 2011 “A Legacy of Leadership: A Promise for Tomorrow” State Convention for a lifetime of Achievement to the Democratic party and the people of Florida. Governor Reubin O’D. Askew, Congresswoman Karen Thurman and former US Attorney General Janet Reno will be honored for their distinguished service.

Governor Askew, Congresswoman Thurman and Whitehead will attend Friday’s dinner to receive Leadership awards.

“The legacy of the Florida Democratic Party is personified through the dedicated leaders that we will be honoring at our State Convention,” said Rod Smith, Chairman of the Florida Democratic Party. “These individuals have shaped not only our state, but our nation, and have tirelessly championed the democratic values that our party was founded upon. We are honored to have them attend our State Convention as we unite and look toward the future.”

The Gov. Reubin O’D. Askew Award for Lifetime Service to Florida inaugural award will be given to its namesake, Gov. Reubin O’D. Askew who served as Florida’s 37th Governor from 1971 – 1979. During his unprecedented two terms as Governor, Askew championed civil rights by supporting integration in education and in government by appointing several African Americans to state positions. His leadership yielded tremendous economic growth for Florida creating jobs and ushering Florida into the national spotlight.

The Charles Whitehead Award for Lifetime Service to the Florida Democratic Party will be dedicated in former Florida Democratic Party Chairman Charles Whitehead’s name, and Congresswoman Karen Thurman will be honored as the inaugural recipient. Thurman’s elected service career began when she won a seat on the Dunnellon City Council in 1974. In 1993 she was elected to the US House of Representatives where she serveduntil 2003; in 2005 she was elected as the Chairwoman of the Florida Democratic Party where she served until 2010.

The Carrie Meek Award for Distinguished Democratic Leadership will be awarded to former US Attorney General Janet Reno. After serving as a state attorney in Dade County, Florida, Reno was named the first female US Attorney General by President Bill Clinton in 1993, a post she held until 2001.

The 2011 Florida Democratic Party State Convention will bring together Democratic leaders and delegates from across the state as we work to re-elect President Obama, Senator Bill Nelson and a host of other democrats to join our Democratic Delegation. With 29 crucial electoral votes, Florida is the most important swing state in the country. This year’s State Convention will harness Democrats collective enthusiasm and focus on electing Democrats in 2012.

To purchase tickets to the ” A Legacy of Leadership: A Promise for Tomorrow” Convention visit the website or call the Florida Democratic Party office at (850) 222-3411.


Stay in Touch