In the News

Florida Democratic Party Congratulates Senate Democrats on Leadership Positions

This week Democratic Senators were named to leadership assignments on top committees for the 2019 Legislative Session, putting Democrats in a position to help shape and influence important legislation this coming year.

Senator Bill Montford was named Chair of the Environmental and Natural Resources Committee, while Senator Lauren Book will serve as Chair of the Children, Families, and Elder Affairs committee.

Freshman Senators Lori Berman and Janet Cruz also earned leadership assignments, Berman to Health Policy and Cruz to Military and Veterans Affairs and Space Committees respectively. Senate Minority Leader Audrey Gibson was named Vice Chair of the Rules Committee.

“Congratulations to our Democratic Senators who have been named to top committee leadership assignments,” said FDP Chair Terrie Rizzo. “I know that our Democratic Senators will use their voices on these committees to help create an economy that works for all of us, improve public education, pass critical environmental protections, work for criminal justice reform and protect health care for our Seniors and Florida families.”

Full List of Democratic Committee Leadership Assignments:
Senator Audrey Gibson: Vice Chair, Rules
Senator Lori Berman: Vice Chair, Health Policy
Senator Lauren Book: Chair, Children, Families, and Elder Affairs
Senator Randolph Bracy: Vice Chair, Appropriations Subcommittee on Criminal and Civil Justice
Senator Oscar Braynon: Vice Chair, Ethics and Elections
Senator Janet Cruz: Vice Chair, Military and Veterans Affairs and Space
Senator Gary Farmer: Vice Chair, Community Affairs
Senator Bill Montford: Chair, Environment and Natural Resources and Vice Chair, Education
Senator Bobby Powell: Vice Chair, Appropriations Subcommittee on Agriculture, Environment and General
Senator Kevin Radar: Vice Chair, Governmental Oversight and Accountability
Senator Jose Javier Rodriguez: Vice Chair, Judiciary
Senator Darryl Rouson, Vice Chair, Banking and Insurance
Senator Victor Torres: Vice Chair, Commerce and Tourism
Senator Perry Thurston: Vice Chair, Appropriations Subcommittee on Transportation, Tourism, and Economic Development

Stay in Touch