In the News

Commissioner-elect Nikki Fried Announces Inauguration Leadership Committee

Today, Commissioner-elect Nikki Fried announced the leadership of her Inaugural Committee. The Inaugural Committee will organize events in Tallahassee in the lead-up to, and day of, Nikki’s swearing-in as Florida Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services on January 8th, 2019.

The Chairs of Nikki’s Inaugural Committee are Jenni Shaffren and Ben Pollara. Shaffren is Nikki’s sister; Pollara is a Miami-based political consultant who was a Senior Advisor to Nikki’s campaign. Stephanie McClung will serve as Executive Director of the Inauguration efforts, McClung served as Senior Finance Advisor to the Fried campaign.

Heading up finance for the Inaugural Committee are longtime Democratic strategists and activists, Mitchell Berger, Kelly Cohen, Jodi Bock Davidson, Justin Day, Sean Pittman, Heather Turnbull and Stephanie Grutman Zauder.

“I could not be more honored to be a part of my sister’s inauguration,” stated Shaffren, “Nikki is a tremendous inspiration to me, my 9-year old daughter – who adores and idolizes her Aunt Nikki – and to women and girls throughout our state. This is an incredible moment for our family, but also for the people of Florida, who I know Nikki will serve with the same level of commitment and integrity that I have always known her to have.”

Pollara said, “When Nikki is sworn into office, she will do so as a leader that all Floridians can count on, and who will follow through on the promises of her campaign.” He continued, “From January 8th on, Nikki will fight every day to expand access to medical marijuana, protect our clean water and beaches, and ensure concealed weapons permits are issued responsibly. I am thrilled to be part of a dynamic, diverse group of Floridians who will help welcome her into office.”

The complete list of Commissioner-elect Nikki Fried’s Inaugural Committee leadership is below:

Nikki Fried 2019 Inauguration Committee

Jenni Shaffren
Ben Pollara

Honorary Co-Chairs
U.S. Senator Bill Nelson
Senator Audrey Gibson
Representative Kionne McGhee
Chairwoman Terrie Rizzo

Finance Chairs
Mitchell Berger, Kelly Cohen, Jodi Bock Davidson, Justin Day, Sean Pittman, Heather Turnbull, Stephanie Grutman Zauder

Inaugural Host Committee
Michael L. Bronstein
Yolanda Cash Jackson
Ana Cruz
Mayanne Downs
Candice Ericks
Michael Fernandez
Susan Glickman
Brian Goldmeier
Pamela Goodman
Alexander P. Heckler
Fedrick C. Ingram
Shellie S. Levin
Hon. Fred Lippman
Melissa McKinlay
Todd Michaels
Harold Mills
Pete Mitchell
Dan Newman
Rhett O’Doski
Juan Penalosa
Ariel Pereda
Joseph R. Salzverg
Andrew Smith
Sawyer Smith
Richard Swann
Allison Tant
Screven Watson

Executive Director
Stephanie McClung

Director of Scheduling and Advance
Ashley Walker

Director of Operations and Logistics
Matthew Van Name

Finance Advisors
Nick Merlino and Samantha Pollara

Stay in Touch