In the News

Florida Democratic Party Announces 2020 Commission: "Path to Power"

On Thursday, The Florida Democratic Party announced the launch of the 2020 “Path to Power” commission, made up of elected officials, party and community leaders, and progressive activists.

The Commission will look back at the 2018 elections, examine contributing elements to narrow statewide losses, better understand what went right in our wins and develop a Path to Power in advance of the 2020 elections.

FDP Chair Terrie Rizzo released the following statement when announcing the Commission:

“Democrats had a lot of bright spots in this election: record turnout for a midterm including African Americans and young people, two Congressional seats flipped, flipping 8 legislative seats, Democratic control of the five largest counties in the state and we elected our first cabinet member in more than a decade.

“We also had some tough losses and as a Party and we need to examine and assess the 2018 outcomes. We have put together a group of Florida’s most experienced and talented leaders who will be crucial in our efforts to forge a ‘Path to Power’ in 2020.”

Committee Chairs:

Honorary Chair: Commissioner Nikki Fried
Honorary Co-Chairs: Senator Audrey Gibson, Representative Kionne McGhee
Chairs: Dr. Cynthia Chestnut, Sean Shaw, Jeremy Ring


Congressman Darren Soto
Congressman Ted Deutch
Senator Jose Javier Rodriguez
Representative Amy Mercado
Judy Mount, First Vice Chair, Florida Democratic Party
Representative Carlos Guillermo Smith
Mayra Macias, Vice President, Latino Victory Project
Susan Smith, President, Democratic Progressive Caucus of Florida
Representative Shevrin Jones
Lydia Hudson, President, Democratic Black Caucus of Florida
Noemi McGregor, President, Democratic Hispanic Caucus of Florida
Roxey Nelson, FL Dir. of Politics and Strategic Campaigns at SEIU 1199
Shirin Bidel-Niyat, Assistant Director, Political Action AFSCME
Wendy Williams, President, Small County Coalition
Fedrick Ingram, President, Florida Educators Association
JoAnne DeVries, Chair, Sarasota County Democratic Exec. Committee
Samantha Herring, State Committeewoman Walton County
Representative Anna Eskamani
Senator Gary Farmer
Karen Greene, President, Vice Chair, Florida Democratic Caribbean Caucus
Representative Ramon Alexander
Patricia Farley, President, Democratic Women’s Clubs of FL
Annisa Karim, Chair of Collier County Democratic Executive Committee

In addition to the 2020 Commission the Florida Democratic Party has released a statewide survey and is engaging leaders across the state in dialogue and regional meetings to provide input to a plan to take back our state in 2020.

Stay in Touch