Florida Democrats Win 225 Local and Municipal Races Across Florida

The Florida Democratic Party announced today that 225 Democrats were elected to local, municipal, and county offices across Florida. These victories were propelled by the Florida Democratic Party Municipal Victory Program (MVP). This program, launched in 2019 under the leadership of Florida Democratic Party Chair Terrie Rizzo and spearheaded by Miami Commissioner Ken Russell, included training, digital and communications resources, data and analytics resources, and direct investments.

“We are extremely proud of the local and municipal Democrats who ran for office and want to congratulate each of the 225 candidates who won. All politics is local, and FDP launched the Municipal Victory Program in 2019 and dedicated resources and staff, because winning local and municipal races must be a key pillar of an effective strategy in Florida, “ said Florida Democratic Party Chair Terrie Rizzo 

“Investing in local and municipal candidates, is key to building long term infrastructure on the Democratic side in Florida. That is what the Municipal Victory Program did and we are seeing progress all across the state.” said Ken Russell, City of Miami Commissioner and Chair of the FDP Municipal Victory Program. “I can not wait to work with these local leaders to build a better future for Florida from the bottom up.” 

Highlights from the victory program include Daniella Levine Cava, the first female elected mayor of Miami Dade, Nadia Combs of Hillsborough County and Jack Kelly of St. Lucie County who both flipped school board seats. 

These victories spanned counties all across Florida, not just Democratic strongholds. The full list can be found HERE.

Stay in Touch