Latest News

Statement on Florida Congressional Members Voting to Invalidate the General Election Results

In light of the insurrection at our nation’s Capitol on Wednesday, January 6th and the subsequent vote in the House and the Senate to certify the election results, Chair of the Florida Democratic Party, Terrie Rizzo released the following statement:  

“Yesterday we saw a violent insurrection at the Capitol incited by President Trump and led by his supporters who believe the election was stolen from them. This is a conspiracy theory – full stop. Joe Biden is the president-elect and he won in a free and fair election. And yet even after this desecration of the Capitol that put the lives of our Congress Members and staff at risk, 12 of the Congressional leaders from Florida voted to invalidate election results from swing states where they didn’t like the outcomes. It is despicable. Fanning the flames of these conspiracy theories, and giving them weight in the halls of our Congress despite over 60 failed lawsuits and absolutely no evidence is dangerous and deeply antithetical to our democracy. These Congress Members should be ashamed and will be held accountable by Florida voters. ”

For reference these are the 12 Republican Congress Members from Florida who voted to invalidate either the Arizona or Pennsylvania election results: Senator Rick Scott, Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart, Rep. Byron Donalds, Rep. Neal Dunn, Rep. Scott Franklin, Rep. Matt Gaetz, Rep. Carlos Gimenez, Rep. Brian Mast, Rep. Bill Posey, Rep. John Rutherford, Rep. Greg Steube, Rep. Daniel Webster